Running Gear Review (with Giveaway!!)

(Scroll to the bottom for the giveaway link!)

In the last few months, I’ve collected some new gear for my little hobby. Not a lot, mind you, just some little things to make running more enjoyable.

12565354_10101338252199256_5924797385281947626_n

No idea where this image came from. I just saw it on Facebook and loved it immediately!

I thought I would share some new finds I’m really liking, plus see what totally unnecessary goods you’ve collected that you now can’t live without 😉

Mizuno Wave Paradox

New ShoesIn my recap on the Valentine’s Day 5K, I mentioned a pain in my calves/shins that I couldn’t explain. Well, that pain got worse and worse. It actually got to a point where it felt as though my legs were actually falling into each other as I ran. I did some research and basically decided two things. One, my shoes were about ready to be retired, and two, I needed more support.

I was running in Mizuno Wave Inspire 10s, which I really liked, but needed something with way more arch support. The last few weeks I could actually FEEL my feet over-pronating, and I wanted something with a stronger hold. Enter the Wave Paradox. I’d tried them on before and really liked them, but ultimately chose a different brand that time. This time I wasn’t going to let these pass me by. Currently there’s a new version of the Paradox, but I wanted to save some dough, so I called FIVE different running stores before I found one with this version in my size! And I’m so happy I did, too! These shoes are incredible. I’ve already put many miles on them and can’t wait to add more.

C9 Power Core Sports Bras

I’m a member of Influenster, and sometimes I get great deals on new things. Recently I got a 40% off coupon to use towards sports bras at Target. Now, I have a LONG history of having a chest far too large to by bras from anything other than a specialty store. Years of un-fun colors in un-fun sizes and un-fun materials. That’s not to say I haven’t had good luck with sports bras. I CANNOT say enough good things about Moving Comfort bras. They are AMAZING for the larger chested among us. But over the last year I’ve lost some inches in my chest region. Enough inches that I though maybe, just maybe, I could buy “off the rack” at Target and have a sports bra with great support.

sportsbras

Not the greatest picture, but you get the gist.

My hopes and dreams came true! I ended up with FOUR bras (two different kinds) and I could not be happier! They are cute, supportive, and best of all, AFFORDABLE! I took the cute purple/orange one for a 6 mile run this weekend, and it held up wonderfully (literally!). I HIGHLY recommend these!

Running Belt

A month or so ago I was given the chance to try out a new running belt from SLS3 called the Dual Pocket Run Belt. I was intrigued by the concept of two pockets, so I thought “why not?”

Dual Pocket Belt

When I first took it out of the bag, I wasn’t sure how it would fit. The pockets are folded up small, but expand in a big way!

Filled Dual Pocket Belt

The pockets are lined with a vinyl coating, which keeps my phone from getting gross and wet from my sweaty back. Plus, the dual pockets makes it nice to keep my important items like my ID and phone separate from things I need more frequently like my lip balm or fuel. I never liked stopping to get a fuel packet out while also panicking that would somehow drop my keys or driver’s license. Having the two pockets cuts down on that worry!

I was concerned that it would be too big all loaded up and would bounce like crazy. However, I found that as long as I kept the belt nice and tight and didn’t bring more than I needed, I barely noticed it! I have a SPI belt, too, but I find myself reaching for this run belt more often, even for shorter runs when I don’t have to carry more than my phone with my. This will definitely be my go-to belt for races or runs where I don’t need to also carry water.

Now the good news! I was given a chance to give away a dual pocket belt to one of you! Just enter the rafflecopter giveaway below to win! And for the rest of you who don’t win, or don’t want to wait, use the code BLOG40 to save 40% off the entire site at  www.slstri.com.

CLICK HERE FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!! –>> a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Disclosure: I purchased the shoes on my own and the bras on my own (with a coupon from Influenster). I was given a Dual Pocket Belt in exchange for a review, but I was not otherwise compensated.

Leave a Reply

