Valentine’s Day TC 5k Training: Week 2

Week two of training, and the first week back to training while working. The Galloway Method frustrates me at times. I’m running longer periods of time at faster speeds, but my paces still look slow. I just have to remember that I’m only two weeks into an 8 week program, so I have to have faith that I will start seeing results in my pace eventually.

Also, remember last week when I said I was going to start a run streak and see how long I could go? Yeah. It lasted 7 days. As it turns out, trying to get at least a mile in a day during the winter the first week back to work/school after winter break is darn near impossible. We had to do some major schedule shifting a couple times to make it work, and I just don’t have the energy to continue it. I figure as long as I’m following my training plan and doing what’s actually scheduled, I’ll be just fine. No need to add more stress with a run streak!

Dailies:

Monday:
Scheduled: 25 minutes, 4 min/1 min run/walk
Actual: 2.29 miles in 25:00 (10:55 pace)
I had the treadmill set for 6.1 during the run part, and it wasn’t COMPLETELY horrible. Plus my pace went from 11:19 last week to 10:55 so that’s positive!

Tuesday:
Scheduled: Rest
Actual: 1.36 miles uphill walking in 25:00
Still feeling positive about my streak, at this point, but kind of upset that I couldn’t do a different kind of cross training.

Wednesday:
Scheduled: 6×400 with .16 walk break
Actual: 2.35 miles in 28:36 (12:10 pace)
I felt really frustrated after this run. I ran my 400s HARD, even getting up to 6.7 on the treadmill, and still my pace was in the 12s. Again, I have to remember I’m just starting this training, and I AM seeing improvement, but it’s frustrating when I have a hard workout and leave it seeing paces I was hitting in 2014.

Thursday:
Scheduled: Rest
Actual: 1.31 miles walking in 20:27
My son has wrestling practice at our local high school activity center, so I used that time to use the indoor walking track. It was nice and all, but kind of a headache for my husband who had to watch the 3 year old and keep my son focused on his practice at the same time. We won’t be doing that again!

Friday:
Scheduled: Rest
Actual: 1.51 miles uphill walking in 27:00
Got up super early in the morning so I could walk. Really started hating this whole run/walk streak at this point. To be on ANY other machine but the treadmill would be a treat at this point!

Saturday:
Scheduled: 4 miles, .5 miles run/.25 walk
Actual: Rest
My son had his first wrestling tournament Saturday morning and Saturday evening was my husband’s work holiday party. With what little time there was in between, I chose to sit on my butt and do nothing. Run/walk streak OVER!

Sunday:
Scheduled: Rest
Actual: Saturday’s run – 4 miles in 48:57 (12:14 pace)
I have to be proud of myself for doing the run portions at a faster pace than usual. It was tough but I stuck it out and I’m glad I did. The pace isn’t my favorite, but aren’t the long runs supposed to be done much slower than race pace?

Totals:
Weekly miles: 12.8
Yearly miles: 16.9/1000
Team miles: 36.67/2000

Leave a Reply

