Gopher to Badger Half Marathon Training: Weeks 9-11

So, it’s been a while, eh? Sorry about that!

The last few weeks have been a bit crazy where training is concerned. Week 9 saw only one scheduled run completed, and no long run. I was OK with that, though, since it was only supposed to be 6 miles and besides, we were on vacation in the middle of nowhere. I had absolutely no cell signal and was paranoid that I’d bonk again with no way to get back besides a long walk.

Week 10 saw a sick baby sharing a bed with us, meaning I got very little sleep and was in no mood to run. I did, however complete my long run that weekend! I ran 11 miles from my home, around Lake Nokomis, and back. My pace wasn’t all that great, but I did it and all in one shot! The last time I completed a long run for the full scheduled distance in one shot was my 8 mile run back in the middle of June.

Now we’re up to week 11. Again, I didn’t get all my scheduled runs in because I got the cold the baby had. I did one three mile run that made my head and sinuses beg for mercy, so I scrapped the other two weekday runs. Again, I completed my 12 mile long run in one shot! I woke myself up at 4:45 and hit the Mississippi Road trail by 5:45 am. It took me longer than I wanted, but I was home, showered, and back in bed before 9am! Not a terrible way to start a Sunday!

And now here we are: Race Week. I have a lot of mixed emotions. I know I’ll be able to finish the distance. I worry that I won’t be able to do it faster than last time, and I CERTAINLY know I won’t be hitting my dream goal of 2:30. I’m trying to go into this race with the mentality that this is just for funsies. This is for the ability to brag that I ran two half marathons this year after running for barely over a year.

Here are my goals for this weekend:
A Goal: 2:30 finish
B Goal: Under 2:39:44
C Goal: Finishing

My plan is to start with the 2:30 pacer and stick with her the entire way, or at least don’t let her out of my sight. Hopefully she’ll be a bit closer to pace than the last time I tried to run with a pacer and she hit the first few miles WAY under pace.

The forecast shows a starting temperature in the low 60s, which is good as long as the humidity stays low. There will be water stops about every 2 miles, and according to some reviews I read, some stops have hoses to cool you off!

My fueling plan will be a bit different than usual. I discovered on accident this weekend that my stomach feels and responds much better to a bowl of oatmeal than a bagel with cashew butter. I realized Sunday morning before my run that we were out of bagels, so I hoped the oatmeal would work. Happily, it was great! I had the perfect amount of energy and I didn’t feel like there was a ball of dough in my stomach!

I plan on taking a GU before the race, then every 3-4 miles during. I’ll also be putting more salt in my diet to offset the amount of water I’ll be drinking. I’m a VERY salty sweater, and based on some Googling I’ve been doing, it looks like low salt may also be a reason for my calf cramping I tend to get after running 10+ miles. Hello to pretzels and popcorn snacks!!

Otherwise, I’m just planning on trying to enjoy myself and the unique two-state race! Wish me luck!

One thought on “Gopher to Badger Half Marathon Training: Weeks 9-11

  1. Good luck! It never ceases to amaze me all of the planning and forethought required to run such long distances. I just try to not die after 2 miles. But once you get that endurance, food and sleep and rest and pace are all such big factors in how successful the run is!

Leave a Reply

