Gopher to Badger Half Marathon Training: Week 6

First of all, yes, I did skip weeks 4 and 5. Don’t worry about those. They weren’t pretty. You can check my RunKeeper account if you’re really curious.

So, Week 6. Almost 100% on track, just short .6 miles one morning, which isn’t all that bad! I will say that it is getting HOT. If I can get out the door before 7am, it’s fine, but any time after 9 is too much. The humidity is higher, the temps are higher, and I get SLOWER. PLUS when I don’t get up at 6 to run, I have to either take the kids with in the stroller, which slows me down even more, OR I have to wait until the evening when it’s even hotter, which, no thank you.

So this week I ended up getting up at 6 only once, then I had to use the stroller twice, and my long run started too late and ended REALLY hot and REALLY slow.

Tuesday:
3 miles in 33:31 (11:09 pace)
6am wake up mean cooler temps. Cooler temps mean faster Nicci.

Wednesday:
3.4 miles in 41:20 (12:11 pace)
Sleeping in means warmer temps and stroller pushing. Both mean MUCH slower Nicci. This run was extra fun because it ended at a play date. That was probably the smelliest play date I’ve ever been on!

Friday:
3 miles in 36:25 (12:08 pace)
I hate running with the stroller. You’d think that would be better motivation to get up early.

Saturday:
8 miles in 1:33:59 (11:46 pace)
I wanted to get this run finished by 9:30, but I didn’t get out of bed early enough and I dragged my feet getting ready and out the door, so I didn’t get started until closer to 9am. I ran along Shepard Road in St. Paul so I could get some hills. The first half was alright, but not too hilly. The second half had more hills and it was MUCH hotter.

20150629_125949

 

I’m not terribly pleased with my splits, but then again, this was my first full week of training in a while, plus heat, yada yada whatever. There is lots of room for improvement, and I have 6 weeks to work on that. Plus acclimate to running in the heat. Because hot.

Total miles: 17.4

Leave a Reply

