One Year Later…

Exactly one year ago today I completed my first run. A few days before I’d purchased some cheap running shoes and a sports bra online, both purchased sight-unseen. I also registered for a 5K race.

When the day came (it was a Sunday), instead of sitting around all morning, I was out the door at 8:30 am. In just under 30 minutes I finished a 1.9 mile run, including a 5 minute warm-up and 2.5 minute cool-down (I don’t bother timing those any more). My pace outside my warm-up/cool-down was 14:14. I had to take at least 5 walking breaks. It was HARD and I was down and out for the rest of the day. But I did it. I finished my first run.

I’ve since gone on to run a total of 460.7 miles (WHAT?!?!). That’s like running from my home in Bloomington, MN to Bloomington, IL. I’ve finished six 5Ks, one 10K, one 10 mile race, one half marathon relay, and one half marathon. I’m training for my second half marathon. I’m seriously considering a full marathon next summer, right around my 2nd run-iversery.

I’ve lost a bunch of weight and have been maintaining the same weight since January, the longest I’ve maintained the same weight EVER. My children have taken an interest in my “run races” and want to run with me. My husband has shown unwavering support and dedication to my silly hobby, getting up at ridiculous hours to stand around for 3 hours while I kill myself physically, or picking me up from various places around town when I just can’t do it any more.

Running has taught me that I can do anything I set my mind to. It’s not easy, no way. But finishing a hard task, reaching that seemingly unreachable goal has given me the confidence to keep pushing, keep setting higher goals.

My running has even encouraged others to get more active. At this point, all of my siblings, both parents, and at least one grandparent are signing up to do a 5K together this fall.

The fact that I’ve kept running for this long is incredible to me. I usually peter out on a new hobby after a few months. However, most hobbies don’t give me that burst of adrenaline and endorphins like running does, which is probably why I’ve kept at it for so long!

I’m not sure where running will take me from here. I try and focus on one day/one race at a time. But who knows? Maybe someday I’ll do an Ironman!

Just kidding, no I won’t. I don’t know how to swim.

One thought on “One Year Later…

Leave a Reply

