Gopher to Badger Half Marathon Training: Week 1

Yes, you read that right. I’m officially training for another half marathon. What made the decision for me was a comment a friend made. She reminded me that my body was already physically capable of doing it, it’s just a matter of maintaining that capability. I started thinking about it and realized that it’s not like I’d be starting from scratch. Before February, my longest run was a 10K, with only 2 or 3 runs 5 miles or longer. This time I’ve already run all the distances. I won’t be setting records for longest distances each long run. Now my focus isn’t on doing it, it’s on doing it better.

So here we go! (Following Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 plan)

Monday
3.03 miles in 36:34 (12:03 pace)

When I first looked back at this run I was kind of disappointed in my time, thinking it was an early morning run. Turns out my memory SUCKS. This was actually an afternoon run, one I spent about half a mile walking because my mom called and for some reason I decided to answer it. So factoring in the phone call break, this was actually a decent run!

Wednesday
1.55 miles in 18:48 (12:08 pace)

I was supposed to do 3, but I was running while pushing my 2 year old in the beastly stroller/bike trailer. It was a pain, but the way I see it, it will only make me stronger, right?

Friday
3.03 miles in 34:02 (11:14 pace)

I had a job interview this morning, so this run served as a way to wake up and get my endorphins flowing so I could rock it! Also, I drank about 4 ounces of Starbucks Skinny Vanilla Iced Latte (which you can buy in take-home form from the grocery store!!) before this run, and I think that made the difference in my wake up and speed!

Sunday
5.04 miles in 56:10 (11:09 pace)
Oh man. This was one of those unicorn runs. One where I felt amazing the entire time and CRUSHED it! This was my BEST pace over 3 miles (even over 4?) AND I ran a hilly course to prepare myself for an upcoming hilly race. And it was raining. AND IT WAS AWESOME! Again, I drank some of that skinny vanilla latte before I left. I swear that stuff is magic.

After that run, I started thinking about my half marathon again. It was HARD starting to run after that race again. Hard because it hurt. Hard because it almost felt like I was learning to run all over again. Hard because I just didn’t want to run any more because of how disappointed I was in my performance. But after Sunday’s run, I realized that it was all good. All that training and the race and the two weeks of slow, short recovery runs may have actually made me stronger. I know it’s still very early, but I feel like I can actually do well this coming August.

Leave a Reply

