Run More, Run Stronger, Run Together

It’s that time of year again. Time to look back on all we accomplished and look forward to what we want to do. 2014 was a great year for me! I made the commitment in April to lose weight, and as of today I’ve lost about 45 pounds! In June I started running and discovered my love for being active.

My first day of running was June 22. I ran just under 2 miles and it took me almost 30 minutes to do it. My pace was 15:11. Since that day, I ran 226.3 miles. My pace went from that 15:11 on my first run to and average of about 11:20 in the last couple weeks. I signed up for an ran my very first 5K race, then ran 3 more, plus a 10K (race recaps here). I’m on my second pair of running shoes, the first pair I was properly fitted for. I even got a gym membership, and go about 3-4 times a week.

The Nicci on New Years Day 2014 would hardly recognize Nicci today! And that’s a good thing. 2014 was the year I finally took control of my life and did something just for me, and I have absolutely no regrets.

As far as 2015, I’m not one to make New Years “resolutions.” I don’t like having to make goals on a day that you’re “supposed to.” I prefer to make them in my own time in my own way. Rather, I like the idea of plans. Plans aren’t goals, they aren’t resolutions. Plans are flexible, yet something I can definitively put in my calendar. With that said, here are my plans for 2015:

Run at least one race a month
Unless it’s cold. Because that’s just dumb. So far, I’m registered for only two races (one in April, one in May), but there are quite a few I have my eye on. Here are my ideas/dreams:

The only ones I’m actually registered for are Everybody’s Irish 5K, Goldy’s Run, and the Lake Minnetonka Half. But registration fees for the Gopher to Badger run (a run that starts in Minnesota and ends in Wisconsin) are super cheap, so I might jump on that right away! Next pay day I’ll register!! Otherwise the rest of these races are up in the air.

The Twin Cities 10 mile is the race I’ve been dreaming about, but it’s a lottery entry and I hear it’s almost impossible to get into it. There are ways to guarantee your entry, such as signing up for the Looney Challenge (running the 5K and 10K on October 3, the the 10 mile the next day) or the Summit Challenge (which includes that Valentine’s race, plus another March race, a July half marathon, then that 10 mile), but those challenges are a bit more than I’m comfortable paying, so I think I’ll just try my luck with the lottery and sign up for the 10K if I don’t get it.

Train Strong
This plan is kind of vague, I know. But the last few weeks I haven’t been doing my best at keeping up with my workouts/runs. ESPECIALLY once the holidays hit. I blame it on not having a solid “thing” that I’m training for. Ten mile/half marathon training starts February 8, and once that does, I’ll need to buckle down and actually get my workouts done.

This is going to be extra hard since I’ll be doing my student teaching starting January 12. I’ll have a few weeks to get used to working again plus getting up extra early to workout, so hopefully when training starts I’ll have a solid plan for how to fit it all in. Plus the weather should be warming up a bit and the mornings will get brighter, so I won’t have to use up 20 minutes of my early mornings driving to and from the gym.

Get my son into running
My son LOVES watching my “running races” and asked yesterday if he could run his own race. There’s a kids’ run that goes with Goldy’s Run, which I think would be fun for him, since he’ll get to see himself on the jumbotron at TCF Bank Stadium. And there’s a kids’ indoor run next month that I’ll sign him up for. I love that he gets excited about running races and hope we both keep it up for a long time!

Run at least one race with Tim
This is going to be a tough one to work out. With small kids, we can’t train together, so he’d have to do his training in the evenings when he gets home from work. He’s certainly not out of shape, but it’s been a long time since his glory days of high school track and field, so he’ll need some time to build up the stamina to go the entire distance (even though I promised him he could probably walk a 5K as fast as I can run it!). If we can figure out a plan, awesome! If not, that’s OK, too. It still would be fun to cross a finish line with him, though.

So there it is, my plan for 2015. Run more. Run stronger. Run as a family.

Leave a Reply

