Half Crazy?

Bet you can’t guess what I did yesterday?

Ok you probably can. But just in case, I registered for a half marathon. You heard me right. A half marathon. Me. The girl who up until 6 months ago could barely walk around the block without being winded. The girl who discovered that cardiovascular activity is actually fun and not horribly painful and awful.

I know what you’re thinking: how in the world did I decide to jump to a half marathon? Well, it’s simple, really. First I ran a 5K and I didn’t die. In fact as soon as I got home from that race I registered for another! Post-race adrenaline, man.

So after I ran another 5K, I thought, why not add another 3.1 miles? So I registered for a 10K. And as terrible as that day was, I survived and met my goal. So I thought, what’s another 3.8 miles? Goldy’s Run is a great 10 mile race the day before my birthday that ends on the 50 yard line at TCF Bank Stadium on the University of Minnesota campus. And the course runs up and down the Mississippi river and through the campus. And did I mention it’s the day before my birthday? Since I survived the 10K, I figured a 10 mile would be no big deal.

Then I started thinking, what’s another 3.1 miles? I mean, some half marathon training plans have you peak at 10 miles for the long run, so why not see if there’s a half marathon close enough to the 10 mile so I can technically count the 10 mile race as just another training run? Sure enough, I found one three weeks later that runs around/through Lake Minnetonka. In fact it’s even called the Lake Minnetonka Half Marathon.

And that’s how I concluded that running a half marathon would be no big deal. Right? RIGHT?!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I have NO interest in adding another 13.1 miles on that to make it a full marathon. Increasing in increments less than 4 miles at a time is about all I can handle, thank you very much.

Why do I want to do this? Why not just be happy with running for the fun of it? Well, I’ve written before about how I need to have some goal to be working towards in order to stay motivated. My bed is FAR too comfy to leave it just because I like getting sweaty. No, if I’m going to emerge from my warm cocoon it had better be for a damn good reason. That’s reason #1.

Reason #2 is kind of embarrassing. It’s a bit self-centered and maybe a teeny bit prideful. I want a 13.1 sticker. I want it bad. I want to rub it in the faces of my grade school gym teachers who made fun of my lack of athletic ability. I want to dance around with it by my grade school basketball coach who benched me during practice because I wasn’t good enough. I want to find my old high school cross country coach and show him how far I’ve come from the days he would have to go out and find me when the rest of the team had returned from practice and I was still out there working my way back.

Ok, that reason is mostly prideful. And self-centered. And no, I won’t actually rub my former teachers/coaches faces in my sticker. Although I might actually look up my cross country coach. I really did like him.

But really, I want to do it for my kids. I want to show them that they can do anything they put their minds to. I want them to see a strong mother, both physically and mentally.

Those 13.1 miles are gonna eat my dust (even walking kicks up dust, you know!).

Do you have any 2015 races planned out yet? Doing any big goal runs? Any tips for a first time half marathoner? Any “SERIOUSLY DON’T DO IT” warnings?

One thought on “Half Crazy?

Leave a Reply

