Dilly Dally Dailies

So apparently when you write about your daily workouts, they are called “dailies.” Well then. Let it be known that from this point forward I shall refer to my workouts as dailies. As it is written, as it shall be done.

I started a new program last week. And by that I mean I found a workout that I can modify enough to meet my needs and thus am calling it a program. It’s through RunKeeper (if you’re not following me there you totally should) and while it’s technically a beginner 5K program, it builds in a lot of strength training, which I really want to work on the next couple months. After one week I found I really like it and will definately continue until race training season starts.

That said, here are my dailies!

Monday: 1.5 miles in 17:46 (11:51 pace) and leg strength

Wednesday: Upper body/core strength training.

WOO BOY! This day was crazy. This program has me doing one day a week of just strength training. This week I focused on my upper body and my core. I even tried planking and had to force myself to get to 30 seconds. And then I was RIDICULOUSLY sore for two days afterwards. But it’s all in the name of building muscle and tone, right?

Thursday: 3 miles in 35:08 (11:43 pace)

This was the day I discovered I need to bump up the treadmill speed! I’m all the way up to 5.5 miles an hour now (I still take walk breaks, don’t worry)! GO SPEED RACER, GO!

Saturday: 30 minutes arc trainer, leg strength

I had a gym date with my sister this day. I showed her some basic leg work and taught her my very limited knowledge of how to do it. Basically I said “less weight and more reps for tone, more weight and less reps for muscle.” And I told her to do three sets of however many reps she wants to do, not just go until you don’t want to any more. I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure what the fresh-out-of-college trainer at the gym told me.

Sunday: 3.17 miles in 37:39 (11:53 pace)

This was an outside run. I wanted to do 4 miles but I was cold so I didn’t push it. I also learned that “Wiggle” by Jason Derulo and Snoop Dogg has the perfect cadence to run to. This gave me a fit of giggles while running!

I have to say, I really like seeing consistent sub-12 minute paces. My goal isn’t necessarily to run faster, just better. And if my speed increases, well then I must be getting better, right?

Leave a Reply

