Turkey Trot 10K Training – Week 6

I’m pretty proud of my training last week! I hit some great paces and had a banner race on Saturday! There was one awful day, but I came back from it on top!

Sunday:
Scheduled – Strength. Actual – Rest
Technically I don’t think this should be counted as a rest day. I stood/danced for three hours straight at the Pearl Jam concert in highish heeled boots before walking a half mile to the car. That’s totally cross training, right?

Monday:
Scheduled – 3 miles. Actual – Rest
I didn’t get home from the concert until 12:15am and had to be up at 7 to pick the kids up. There was no way I was going to the gym.

Tuesday:
Scheduled – 40 minutes cross. Actual – 2 miles in 25:05 (12:32 pace)
This day was bad. Bad bad bad bad bad. I did not want to be there. Every single step of this run was miserable. It was so bad I almost burst into tears right in the middle of the gym. My plan was to run 3 miles, but after two I said “eff this” and went home. You win some, you lose some, right?

Wednesday :
Scheduled – 2 miles & strength. Actual – 3 miles in 36:34 (12:11 pace)
I felt about a million times better during this run. I was confident, calm, and just ran with a peaceful mind. It felt great (other than the stop I had to make halfway through due to …. erm …. intestinal distress).

Thursday:
Scheduled – Rest. Actual – Rest.
I probably should have gone to the gym, but I didn’t. I just like sleep far too much.

Friday:
Scheduled – 60 minutes cross training. Actual – 1 mile hill walking (about 20 minutes), 40 minutes Arc.
I wanted to get some hill practice in before the race knowing that there were some KILLER rollers right at the start, so I did the “9 holes” setting on the treadmill for some walking. Turns out that program only goes for one mile and kinda craps out if you try to make it go longer. So I moved to the Arc for some hills intervals there while watching Mad Men. Turns out, I do NOT like the sound of people making out directly in my ears. Blech!

Saturday:
Scheduled – 4.5 miles. Actual – 1.53 miles in 19:07 (12:28 pace) and 5K race
After the Twin Cities 5K, I was all hopped up on adrenaline and registered for a Halloween 5K, which ended up begin a lot of fun! I’ll have the full recap tomorrow, so I won’t get into it here. The problem was, I had 4.5 miles on the schedule and a 5K is only 3.1. So before the race, I ran a quick 1.5 miles around the neighborhood to get my total for the day. I’m sure it’s not TERRIBLE that I split my run like that, but I don’t plan to do that for any more “long” runs, so it should be OK.

This week is a pretty standard week. I’ll slightly increase my cross training time, but my mileage should be the same at 9.5 total for the week. I’m also going to start tracking my food again this week in the hopes I drop 10 pounds before the race to hopefully help me run better. We’ll see. Even 5 pounds would be great! Maybe I should write a post about my weight loss progress?

How far did you run last week? Any fun plans for this week besides eating all the Halloween candy?

Leave a Reply

