Just Keep Swimming … Or Running

T Rex not included.

On Monday I mentioned that last week was the first time I seriously thought to myself “I could just quit this whole running thing and no one would care.” Usually my quitting thoughts come mid-run (as in, “I need to call Tim to come pick me up now. Running is stupid”). But those thoughts are always gone in ban out a half mile.

But this thought was different. I’d skipped my run that morning, and as I was getting ready for bed that evening (read: setting my alarm for a stupid hour) I seriously considered quitting. Part of it stemmed from knowing that if I skipped yet another workout, I would likely never get back into it. And another part of it was me wondering why I’m even doing this.

I don’t do it for the admiration, I don’t do it for the blog hits (let’s face it, this blog is only three weeks old. It has two readers.), I don’t do it for Tim, and quite frankly, I didn’t want to do it for me, either.

Then I heard the boy playing in the other room. He was having his “guys” (read: toys) playing “running races.” He always asks me about my running races and if I win and what they are like. He asks me if he can do a running race some day. I realized in that moment what the core of my motivation is, my kids.

I run to have a healthy hobby. I run because racing is so ridiculously fun (and collecting medals and race bibs is a new addiction). I run to inspire my kids.

They don’t care how fast I am. They don’t care if I get a PR. They don’t care if I have to walk half the time. They just think it’s pretty cool that I do running races.

Beyond my kids, I always have the following phrases running through my head that seem to give me the boost I need to keep going:

I like to picture people sitting on their couches in their underwear eating bag of Doritos. Then I get sad because I also want Doritos.

I think this one as my alarm is going off at an obscene hour.

This is a hard one for me. I have to repeat it over and over when I have what I think is a bad run. Then I go back to the couch quote.

And I’m kicking your ass.

I don’t know what it is about these motivational quotes, but they have stuck in my head and they are just what I need to hear right when I need to hear it. So I roll out of bed, lace up my shoes, and do it.

And then a register for another race because what’s the point of running when you have no end goal in mind?

So there you have it, the things that keep me on the road/treadmill. My kids, scheduled races, and all the motivational quotes pinterest can throw at me. And that moment when I wanted to quit? It was fleeting. The next morning I was up and out of bed and on the treadmill. And I didn’t regret a step.

What keeps you motivated to keep going?

Leave a Reply

