Turkey Trot 10K Training – Week 4

I can’t believe I’m already 4 weeks into my training! That means just over 6 weeks until race day! AHH!!

Here’s how my week shook out:

Sunday:
Scheduled – Strength. Actual – Rest
I counted my volunteering at the marathon my strength training. I mean, clapping and cheering for an hour straight takes a lot out of you! 😉

Monday:
Scheduled – 3 miles. Actual – Rest
I was still ridiculously sore from Saturday’s race. Those hills were KILLER! I have got to incorporate more hills into my training. Also, today was the first day I thought “I could just quit this running thing and no one would care.” That’s a post for another day.

Tuesday:
Scheduled – 35 minutes cross. Actual – 3 miles @ 12:34 pace
Today was the last day in my old shoes, and it was a pretty decent run, although I started off WAY too fast and crashed hard at the end. I have to learn to control that. I just get so excited that I have all this energy and want to be all LOOK AT HOW FAST I CAN RUN before dying a painful death.

Wednesday :
Scheduled – 2 miles & strength. Actual – 35 minutes arc trainer and push/pull strength
TV shows make the boring arc trainer more fun/bearable. What’s nice about the arc is I set it for an interval program then just tune out. I like when machines do my thinking for me!

Thursday:
Scheduled – Rest. Actual – Rest.
I was already a day behind all week, and if I didn’t rest today, that would have put me at 5 days of activity in a row, which I’m not a huge fan of. So I slept in and didn’t regret a minute of it.

Friday:
Scheduled – 50 minutes cross training. Actual – 2 miles @ 12:21 pace and leg strength
First run in my new shoes AND first run in a properly fitting running bra. Both worked quite well. Also went HAM on some leg lifts/presses/curls. These babies are gonna be able to crush metal soon!

Saturday:
Scheduled – 4 miles. Actual – 4.04 miles @ 12:28 pace
Took the long way to the boy’s soccer game to get the full 4 miles in. I was super excited to get my fastest training road pace yet, even at a longer distance than usual! Even though I felt like quitting halfway through, I stuck it out and rocked it!

This week is gonna be a little crazy. The boy only has school on Monday and Tuesday, then Tim is taking Thursday and Friday off and we’re headed north for a night! I’m so excited to be in a new place I’ve rearranged my training schedule so I can do my “long” run in a new place, alongside Lake Superior! Also, it feels weird to be excited to run on vacation. Who even am I?

One thought on “Turkey Trot 10K Training – Week 4

  1. — Also, today was the first day I thought “I could just quit this running thing and no one would care.” That’s a post for another day.–

    Keeping the motivation internal is so, so hard. It is so easy to market your progress to an external audience. It has to come down to – do YOU enjoy it? If it weren’t for the fame and fortune, would you still do it?

    For me, I remember the first Fall after I had started running. I was able to run 4 miles straight without stopping or being completely winded and that had NEVER happened to me before. It was a gorgeous fall day and I remember just being able to lope along in the cool weather at a good pace with the dog happily panting next to me. My running lapsed that winter (I loathe treadmills) and the next spring I was so frustrated with practically having to start all over again from scratch. Too much data made me so frustrated from week to week and run to run. And I just quit.

    And now, a couple years later, I miss it. I miss that easy 4 mile run. It really made me appreciate the cool fall weather so much more.

    So what drives YOU and what do YOU enjoy from running? Try to remember that and forget your blog hits and other datapoints.

Leave a Reply

