Welcome!

Suds Run 2014

This is me finishing the Suds Run. I have no idea why I look so angry or why I decided to just saunter over the finish line.

**This post is gonna be sticky for a week or so, so scroll down for new stuff!**

Welcome to my newest adventure: Running Short! In case you don’t know me already, I’m Nicci. Allow me to give you a brief intro and tour of my new digs!

I started this blog as a way to document my path towards becoming a runner. I mean, I’ve gone from barely being able to walk a mile to running a 5K race (although to be fair, I do take a few walk breaks. I mean, I’m not an athlete for heaven’s sake!). If you want the full, long story, check out my About Me page, but the tl;dr version is that I’m going from heavy to not so heavy, lazy to slightly less lazy.

Another reason I started this blog is because I have yet to find a blog about slow runners, or runners just starting out. I read plenty of blogs written by established runners who have been running their entire adult lives. I read some written by folks who started slow 5-6 years ago but are practically elite now. Me? I can run a 12:15 minute mile on a good day. While that’s a HUGE improvement from the 15:45 minute miles I was running in June, it’s still not even close to elite. Heck, it’s not even close to average! So this is out there for everyone who is just starting out like me. Those who aren’t athletes but just like to get out and do their best simply because it feels good. I hope that I can be an inspiration to those just waiting for the right reason to start being active.

What does Running Short mean? Well, if you knew me in real life, you’d know what it means! And for those who don’t, I’m 5′ 3/4″ on a good day. But also, aren’t we always Running Short of something? Time? Money? Energy? I know I am!

Some personal stuff about me: I’m married to a wonderful ginger named Tim, and we have two adorable kids. I’ll probably write about them here and there, but the main focus here is my progress in becoming a runner.

I hope you like it here, and I hope you find my posts entertaining. I put my contact info over in the sidebar over there, so feel free to get a hold of me there, or leave a comment here. I can’t wait to start documenting my journey, and hopefully being able to look back at my posts here and see how far I’ve come!

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

